The Rooster celebrates its 200th edition
|March 21, 2012||Filled under Community, Newsletters, Roos|
The first edition of the newsletter was started in August 1985 by Leslie Helliwell who Edited the Rooster for most of its 27 year history. The 200th edition re-publishes the front-page of that first type-written issue which was printed on a Roneo duplicating machine. The fact that the current edition has been printed in colour, with photographs and reproduced online, speaks volumes about the changes in communications technologies since 1985.
The Rooster continues to play its basic role unchanged since 1985; to bring the news from the parish to folk living in the village.
- Photos and a history of the old village windmill are included.
- There is a fascinating look at the history of the Admiral Storr’s Tower which was built in 1750 presumably as a military watchtower. The 3-storey brick tower standing to the North of Hilston is now a derelict building but a Grade II listed building. This item will be of interest to those campaigning to save Paull Holme Tower.
There is an advert for the 57th Roos Spring Show to be held on Saturday 14th April 2012 at the Memorial Institute in the village. Other adverts feature the many local businesses that help maintain village life and the local economy.
There is also a report of The Rooster Association Annual Meeting held last month. This saw the election of the Committee that manages the Rooster. In the last 12-months the Committee have effectively revamped and relaunched the newsletter into an excellent and worthy publication – a move that was inspired by an announcement in February 2011 that the newsletter faced possible closure!
We echo the comments of the original Editor made in the current 200th edition – “Long live The Rooster… to the 300th issue and beyond!”
View and download the historic 200th edition below or from the Roos Parish Council website archive.