East Riding Chairman’s Awards – Holderness Winners

THE WINNERS of the 2012 Chairman’s Awards were announced at The Spa Bridlington on Tuesday 8th May 2012.

Individuals, companies, and community groups were recognised and honoured for being the best in the East Riding across a range of categories from built heritage to the economy and from environment to social well-being and sport.

Two awards were given to people from the Holderness area:

Christina Keyworth – Easington

Christina has been the youth worker in charge of Easington Youth Centre for many years and is dedicated to young people in the area. The youth club is very successful and has around 35 regular members and is the hub of activity for young people in the village.

Christina Keyworth (centre) with the BBC's Clare Frisby, other Award Winners Nigel Rowe, Helen Clarke and Councillor Kay West, chairman of East Riding of Yorkshire Council

Although Christina only works part-time, she works many more hours to ensure young people in Easington can take part in community activities and are engaged. She is also responsible for the Duke of Edinburgh Award in the Withernsea and South Holderness area and has already seen a number of young people achieve their bronze, silver and gold awards.

Christina is a pillar of the local community and both adults and young people turn to her for help and support. They look at her as a figurehead, knowing how passionate and caring she is about the issues facing young people in their community.

After being presented with her award, Christina said: “I was stunned to get the letter telling me about being nominated for this award so to win it is just wonderful. We give young people the support they need as people forget these youngsters are our future.”

Josh Megson – Junior Volunteer, Withernsea

Josh Megson has been a member of Withernsea AFC for about nine years. He started playing football for the under 9’s and finished playing at the age of 15, when the club was disbanded. Rather than do nothing when his team folded, Josh, with the support of the junior chair, embarked on a programme of coaching other junior teams.

He progressed to refereeing and qualified soon after he reaching his 14th birthday. He regularly spends at least three hours refereeing local games every Sunday. Josh, now 16, has completed his coaching qualification and currently helps coach three junior sides and steps up to  manager on occasion.

Josh also supports the football club in other activities from fund-raising to helping out and refereeing at major events including the football tournament weekend which attracts more than 150 teams and over 800 players.

After receiving his award, Josh said: “I was so excited to get the award and I’m happy for everyone at the club as I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for them. I hope to carry on refereeing and get to the highest level possible – maybe even the Premier League.”

Chairman of East Riding of Yorkshire Council, Councillor Kay West, said: “These awards give us the opportunity to honour and thank those people, organisations and businesses from across the East Riding who have contributed so much to promote the area as a great place in which to live and work. I would like to highlight the contribution of those many local people who give up their time to work for others in a voluntary capacity with no thought of reward. Without their efforts, many of the good things we perhaps take for granted in the East Riding would simply not happen at all. They are all winners in our eyes and should be pleased of what they have achieved.”

The awards were one of the last official events to be hosted by Councillor Kay West before she hands over the reins of the chairman’s office.

Eyes on the post

Eyes on the post
About Ray Duffill (Editor) 3106 Articles
Ray Duffill (photo by Neil Holmes) is a former community development manager but now describes himself as a beat-blogger or citizen-journalist. Ray lives in Hedon and founded the Hedon Blog and is the Hedon correspondent for the Holderness Gazette.

2 Comments on East Riding Chairman’s Awards – Holderness Winners

Leave a Comment (your full name please, don't post anonymously)